DIY cleaning

Happy Sunday, friends! I hope you all enjoyed an extra hour in your day to be productive, thoughtful, or well-rested. As a 21 year old in college, I haven’t purchased very much cleaning product (thanks to my mom for being a CLEAN-AHOLIC) but after checking out some prices, I see that it can get expensive to clean your home. 

I decided to take matters into my own hands this week and make a homemade cleaning product that smelled fresh with little chemicals, and disinfects well, too. It was really easy, really fun, and really affordable! Here’s how I made my all-purpose home cleaner:

2 cups water

1 cup hydrogen peroxide

1/4 cup pure lemon juice

Any additional organic oils for scent

IMG_0849IMG_0850IMG_0852

Mix it all together in a spray bottle which can be found at any Walmart or Dollar Tree and get yo clean on. It smells amazing, it’s very light and fresh, and it works really really well. (Trust me, I know- spilled half a bottle on my kitchen table while making my first batch!)

If you love the idea of saving money and not using harsh chemicals in your home, try out any of these awesome recipes used in your whole house like dish detergent pods, laundry detergent, floor cleaners, and homemade Febreze!! Some of these include CRAZY savings, but you’re also reusing plastic spray bottles instead of having to get a new container with each purchase, and you are living a little more sustainably than before. You can’t beat that in a  clean, happy home. I hope you all give some of these great recipes a try. I have and the quality of the final products are great!!

Have a fabulous first week of November, one of my favorite months of the year! Until next week,

Xoxo Rachel

Leave a Reply

